The 2005 Rhysling Winners

2005 Rhysling Award—Short Poem: Greg Beatty
Greg Beatty 2005 photoWinning poem: "No Ruined Lunar City"

Greg Beatty was born and raised in Ohio. He has a B.A. from the University of Washington and a Ph.D. from the University of Iowa, both in English. He currently lives in Bellingham, Wash., and recently married Kathy Pitcher. Beatty also received a Rhysling nomination in the long-poem category this year, for his poem “The Other Sleeping Beauties.” He attended Clarion West, an intensive six-week workshop for writers preparing for professional careers in science fiction and fantasy, in 2000.


2005 Rhysling Award—Long Poem: Tim Pratt
Tim Pratt 2005 photoWinning poem: "Soul Searching"

Tim Pratt is a North Carolina native now living in California, where he is associate editor for Locus magazine and co-edits the literary zine Flytrap with his fiancée, Heather Shaw. His first full-length poetry collection, If There Were Wolves, is forthcoming from Prime Books/Aegis. His poetry has appeared in Asimov’s, Strange Horizons, and Weird Tales, among others. Pratt is also a Nebula-nominated fiction author, and his first novel, The Strange Adventures of Rangergirl, will be published in December. In addition, his story “Hart & Boot” will appear in the Michael Chabon-edited volume of Best American Short Stories.


Grand Master Award: Robert Frazier
Robert Frazier 2005 photoRobert Frazier has seen his work in such publications as Asimov’s Science Fiction, Fantasy & Science Fiction, Analog, Amazing, Weird Tales, Tales of the Unanticipated, Dreams & Nightmares, and The Magazine of Speculative Poetry. His work has also appeared in almost every significant anthology containing science fiction poetry, including The Umbral Anthology of Science Fiction Poetry, Songs from Unsung Worlds, POLY, Time Frames, Terminal Velocities, and 2001: A Science Fiction Poetry Anthology. He has had some 25 poems nominated for a Rhysling Award, winning three times in 1980, 1989, and 1994. He received an Asimov’s Readers’ Poll Award in 1991.

Frazier’s original collections include Peregrine (1978), Co-Orbital Moons (1988) and The Daily Chernobyl (2000, winner of the Anamnesis Press Poetry Chapbook Award). He collaborated with Bruce Boston on Chronicles of the Mutant Rainforest (1992). He was the editor of Speculative Poetry Review and of the seminal anthology Burning with a Vision. He was a longtime editor of Star*Line, the official publication of the Science Fiction Poetry Association, and of the SFPA’s Rhysling Anthology.

Scenes from the 2005 Rhysling Award Poetry Slan

before slan 2005 photo
Joe Haldeman speaks with Terry McGarry (left) while Mike Allen and Drew Morse (back turned) confer with ReaderCon staffers before the reading starts.

Slan 2005 photo
SFPA President Mike Allen (standing) introduces the reading and award announcement. Seated (l to r): Vandana Singh, Sonya Taaffe, Theodora Goss, Joe Haldeman, Terry McGarry, Darrell Schweitzer.

2005 crowd photo
The crowd gathered for the "Poetry Slan" and Rhysling Award announcement, seen over Darrell Schweitzer's shoulder.

Joe Haldeman 2005 photo
Joe Haldeman prepares to read "Old Twentieth (A Century Full of Years)," a double sestina he spent years composing, which was published for the first time in the ReaderCon program book. Seated: Theodora Goss.

crowd 2005 photo
The crowd reacts to Joe Haldeman's reading of his double sestina summarizing the 20th century. The man standing in the foreground is Eric Van, director of ReaderCon programming.

Vandana Singh 2005 photo
Vandana Singh reads "A Portrait of the Artist," which won 2nd place in the 2004 Rhysling Awards in the long poem category. Seated Theodora Goss, Joe Haldeman, Darrell Schweitzer.

Sonya Taaffe 2005 photo
Sonya Taaffe prepares to read "Matlacihuatl's Gift," one of the two co-winners of the 2003 Rhysling Awards for long poem. Seated: Terry McGarry.

Mike Allen 2005 photo
Mike Allen reads "Epochs in Exile: A Fantasy Trilogy," the poem he co-wrote with Charles Saplak that shared the 2003 Rhysling Award for long poem. Seated: Theodora Goss, Joe Haldeman, Darrell Schweitzer.

Darrell Schweitzer 2005 photo
Darrell Schweitzer reads "Remembering the Future," a humorous poem he recently sold to Asimov's Science Fiction. Seated: Theodora Goss, Joe Haldeman.

Friends 2005 photo
It's Sunday afternoon, the con is over and everyone's still friends. From left to right: Vandana Singh, Sonya Taaffe, John Benson, Mike Allen, Sean Wallace, Darrell Schweitzer, Drew Morse.

All 2005 Slan photos by Anita Allen.

Poems included in the 2005 Poetry Slan reading
"Old Twentieth: A Century Full of Years" Joe Haldeman
"Remembering the Future" Darrell Schweitzer
"Matlacihuatl's Gift" Sonya Taaffe
"Epochs in Exile: A Fantasy Trilogy" Mike Allen (co-written with Charles M. Saplak)
"Eighteen Years Old, October Eleventh" Joe Haldeman
"Terminal Moraine" Terry McGarry
"Kaddish for a Dybbuk" Sonya Taaffe
"A Portrait of the Artist" Vandana Singh
"How I Will Outwit the Time Thieves" Mike Allen
"Octavia is Lost in the Hall of Masks" Theodora Goss
"January Fires" Joe Haldeman

background image sfpa logo