2023 Rhysling Award finalists
Rhysling Policies and Procedures
Rhysling Sponsorship

2023 Anthology

2023 Rhysling Anthology cover
2023 Rhysling Anthology
Nominees & Candidates

Still Available

2022 Rhysling Anthology cover
2022 Rhysling Anthology
2022 winners

2021 Rhysling Anthology cover
2021 Rhysling Anthology
2021 winners

2020 Rhysling Anthology cover
2020 Rhysling Anthology
2020 winners

2019 Rhysling Anthology cover
2019 Rhysling Anthology
2019 winners

2018 Rhysling Anthology cover
2018 Rhysling Anthology
2018 winners

2017 Rhysling Anthology cover
2017 Rhysling Anthology
2017 winners

2016 Rhysling Anthology cover
2016 Rhysling Anthology
2016 winners

2015 Rhysling Anthology cover
2015 Rhysling Anthology
2015 winners

2014 Rhysling Anthology cover
2014 Rhysling Anthology
2014 winners

2013 Rhysling Anthology cover
2013 Rhysling Anthology
2013 winners

2012 Rhysling Anthology cover
2012 Rhysling Anthology
2012 winners

2011 Rhysling Anthology cover
2011 Rhysling Anthology
2011 winners

2010 Rhysling Anthology cover
2010 Rhysling Anthology
2010 winners

2009 Rhysling Anthology cover
2009 Rhysling Anthology
2009 winners

2008 Rhysling Anthology cover
2008 Rhysling Anthology
2008 winners

2007 Rhysling Anthology cover
2007 Rhysling Anthology
2007 winners

2006 Rhysling Anthology cover
2006 Rhysling Anthology
2006 winners

The SFPA Rhysling Awards and Anthology

2023 Rhysling Chair: Maxwell I. Gold

Maxwell I. Gold is a Jewish American multiple award nominated author and prose poet who writes weird and cosmic fiction. His work has appeared in numerous anthologies and magazines including Weird Tales Magazine, Space & Time Magazine, Spectral Realms, Startling Stories, Strange Horizons, Tales from OmniPark Anthology, Shadow Atlas: Dark Landscapes of the Americas and many more. He’s the author of the Elgin Award nominated collection, Oblivion in Flux: A Collection of Cyber Prose from Crystal Lake Publishing. Maxwell has served as a judge for the HWA Poetry Showcase and currently serves on the Board of Trustees for the Horror Writers Association as the organization’s treasurer.  

Nomination deadline February 15
Voting deadline September 15

Only SFPA members may nominate and vote.

2023 Rhysling Award nominees & candidates
Rhysling archive and past winners
Rhysling nominee bios

About the Rhysling Awards
In January 1978, Suzette Haden Elgin founded the Science Fiction Poetry Association, along with two of its visible cornerposts: the association's newsletter, Star*Line, and the Rhysling Awards.

The Rhysling Awards are named for the blind poet Rhysling in Robert A. Heinlein’s short story “The Green Hills of Earth.” Rhysling’s skills were said to rival Rudyard Kipling’s. In real life, Apollo 15 astronauts named a crater near their landing site “Rhysling,” which has since become its official name.

Nominees for each year's Rhysling Awards are selected by the membership of the Science Fiction Poetry Association. Each member is allowed to nominate one work in each of two categories: “Best Long Poem” (50–299 lines; for prose poems, 500–1,999 words) and “Best Short Poem” (11–49 lines; for prose poems, 101–499 words). All nominated works must have been first published during the preceding calendar year of the awards year. The Rhysling Awards are put to a final vote by the membership of the SFPA selection from all nominated works, presented in the Rhysling Anthology. The anthology allows the membership to easily review and consider all nominated works without the necessity of obtaining the diverse number of publications in which the nominated works first appeared. The Rhysling Anthology is available to anyone with an interest in this unique compilation of verse from some of the finest poets working in the field of SF/F/Horror poetry.

Printing and distribution of the Rhysling Anthology are paid for from a special fund, the Rhysling Endowment Fund. If you would like to contribute to this fund, please send a check, made out to SFPA, with a notation that it is for the Rhysling fund, to:

PO Box 6688
Portland OR 97228

or by PayPal to SFPATreasurer@gmail.com. Credit card payments are accepted through PayPal. Without the generous donations of many SFPA members, the Anthology could not be published.

To view the contents of all the Rhysling Anthologies since 1978, see the Rhysling archive.

A copy of the annual Rhysling Anthology is included with SFPA membership.

Print copies of the 2023 Rhysling Anthology are $15.95 each; print copies of previous years are available going back to 2006; inquire for earlier years. (Add + $5 USA postage. E-mail the treasurer for postage costs on non-U.S. or multiple copies.

PDF format for $4.

Payable by PayPal to SFPATreasurer@gmail.com or by check or money order, made out to SFPA, mailed to:

PO Box 6688
Portland OR 97228

background image sfpa logo